Skip to content

DISCUSSING OPTIONS WITH DIVORCING CLIENTS

March 28, 2012

image anankkml/ freedigitalphotos.net

IF I BELIEVE THAT WE CAN’T (OR WON’T) STAY TOGETHER (what are my options?)

1.  I can act nice, cooperate

Not retaliate

Refuse to participate in negativity.

If I do this, I might……………………..Feel foolish

Feel devalued

Get no revenge

Feel sad

Feel sorrow

Feel angry

But, I also might………………………   Limit family turmoil

Avoid unhealthy alliances.

Help my children feel better

OR

2. I can act hostile, not cooperate

Retaliate

Participate in negativity

If I do this, I might…………………… Feel vindicated

Get wanted revenge

Protect against hurt

But I also might…………………………Magnify estrangement

Increase family turmoil

Promote unhealthy alliances

Still feel sad

Still feel sorrow

Still feel angry

IF I BELIEVE THAT WE CAN STAY TOGETHER (what are my options?)

(SEE #1 and 2 ABOVE !!!)

Robert Rutman PHD is a Mental Health Professional based in Hermosa Beach CA. as well as a member of A Better Divorce.  His primary goal as a divorce coach is to help his client move smoothly through the divorce process from beginning to end.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

